Congress Shuffles Candidates for Madhya Pradesh Polls

Congress Shuffles Candidates for Madhya Pradesh Polls

Congress Replaces Three Nominees in Madhya Pradesh Polls

25 October, Bhopal Madhya Pradesh

The Congress party made changes to candidates in four assembly constituencies ahead of the upcoming Madhya Pradesh assembly elections. The affected constituencies are Sumawali in Morena district, Pipariya (Scheduled Caste) in Narmadapuram district, Badnagar in Ujjain district, and Jaora in Ratlam district.

In the revised list, Ajab Singh Kushwaha replaced Kuldeep Sikarwar in the Sumawali seat, Virendra Belvanshi replaced Guru Charan Khare in the Pipariya (SC) seat. Additionally, Murli Morwal replaced Rajendra Singh Solanki in the Badnagar seat, and Virender Singh Solanki replaced Himmat Shrimal in the Jaora seat.

Previously, the Congress had announced its second list of 85 candidates for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls, replacing three of its earlier nominees. The initial list had 144 candidates for the state.

The Congress has nominated 62 OBC candidates in the two lists for the Madhya Pradesh elections. The state has 47 reserved seats for Scheduled Tribes and 35 for Scheduled Castes. In 2018, the Congress fielded 60 OBC candidates in the state.

Madhya Pradesh is one of the five states scheduled to hold elections this year, with voting set for November 17 and the vote count on December 3. The state has 230 Assembly constituencies, and in the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress came to power, with Kamal Nath as the chief minister. However, political turmoil in 2020 led to a change in leadership, as Jyotiraditya Scindia and 22 loyalist MLAs switched to the BJP, resulting in a change of government with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as the chief minister.

Madhya Pradesh Politics